Where the heck…

Oh man, these are posts that I despise but I think it’s warranted this time. I mean, it’s been awhile since my last book review hasn’t it? Well, I haven’t stopped reading. I have just been reading Game of Thrones and we all know that’s a pretty long book. Put that in with having moved in mid-September and then getting things done for the kid, I haven’t had much reading time to blaze through books.

I do feel horrible because I have quite a few books that I need to review and a lot of those books have already been released so I’m seriously sorry to those authors, I am still planning on reviewing them just…life. Everyone knows how it is.

I have gotten books also, I just haven’t posted about them. I could have had updates up here.

Books

Like those! I got that whole series from the thrift store (opp shop) and it’s still sitting there waiting to be read because I’m loving Game of Thrones. I have the rest of the series as well but I think I’ll read a couple other books in between. So, I’ve not stopped book blogging, I just need to find more stuff to talk about in between reading a huge long book that’s taking me two months to finish! With the upcoming holiday season I don’t know that it’ll get better!

I will be refreshing the layout soon enough. When I get time…might just be a header and color changes though. There may just be more personal/non-book related posts too. Who knows! The book reviews will come though.

 

Review: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

Review: Falling into Place by Amy ZhangTitle: Falling into Place
Author: Amy Zhang
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: September 9, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Realistic, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Check it out on Goodreads: HERE
Rating: three-half-stars
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Falling into Place has a lot of fantastic reviews going for it and some sprinkling of bad ones on Goodreads. I was pretty excited to start this book and was expecting an If I Stay like feel to it, which you do get. However, I will say right now that Falling into Place does not do it better or even close to the way that If I Stay rips your heart out, stomped on it, put it back in only to repeat the process over and over. No, in Falling into Place you go from kind of feeling bad for the main character (Liz Emerson) to just hating her immensely.

Liz Emerson is basically your typical popular mean bitch who goes around and enjoys getting drunk and ruining peoples lives for no reason really. She’s lonely at home since her father passed and her mom is always somewhere else working. No excuse to me, at all. I’m sure she was lonely and did hate herself however, she could have changed what she was doing and who she was becoming at any time in her life but she didn’t want to enough. She wanted help but didn’t know how to ask for it. Fair enough. There are a lot of people out there like that and I get it. Life is a hard thing to get through.

Her friends were pretty horrible people too and they didn’t really have many redeeming qualities. In fact, you could say that I really didn’t care for much of the characters in the book however the way it was written, it was well done and I was sucked into the story and couldn’t put it down. This book won’t be for everyone. It brings up a lot of issues but it doesn’t really deal with them at all. Drugs, alcohol, rape, abortions, suicide, bullying, fighting, neglect. All of this is in the book, touched upon but there’s no real resolve to it.

The “secret” narrator was quite easy to figure out who/what it was if you pay attention to the story but it was a different twist on it that was good. I believe this book will be on a lot of people’s favorite lists and it was good but I think it could have done a whole lot better.

Review: Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

This is the second book by Liz Czukas that I’ve read and the second one did not let me down. I loved it as much as I loved Ask Again Later. This book had me hooked from the get go. I say that a lot, I know but, this is true. If I don’t feel […]

[Continue reading...]

Book to Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Fault_in_our_stars_movie

The Fault in Our Stars has been out for awhile in book form and it was very exciting when the news was that it got picked up as a movie. Fans couldn’t wait for the movie to come to the big screen because the book was pretty amazing. I absolutely adored the book when I […]

[Continue reading...]

Review: Blackbird by Anna Carey

September 16th 2014

The synopsis of this book and the cover caught my eye when I looked at the review copy on Edelweiss. Then when I finally was going to read it, I read a lot of mixed reviews. A little skeptical going into it, I was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t start out with good thoughts though as […]

[Continue reading...]

Kiddie Corner Reviews: Babar’s Rescue by Laurent De Brunhoff

babars_rescue

I have to start this by saying that I’m not a huge fan of Babar. I don’t really have a reason why but, I just don’t like the elephant at all. I tried to get the kid to pick a different book in the library but he really wanted this Babar one. Begrudgingly I read […]

[Continue reading...]